AstroComm 2021 Workshop

Activity Summary


On June 16th 2021, 48 students and postdoctoral researchers participated in the first edition of the AstroComm 2021 workshop (in virtual format) supported by the Centre for Research in Astrophysics of Quebec (CRAQ). Participants had the chance to learn more about science communication in astronomy through presentations, small group activities and discussions.

Topics covered (see the program : AstroComm2021_ProgramFinal) included presentation tips for various target audiences, social media, sidewalk astronomy for the general public, media training, presentations for young students in classrooms, and more. The workshop was hosted by Nathalie Ouellette (Université de Montréal), with sessions led by Julie Bolduc-Duval (Discover the Universe) and Trevor Kjorlien (Plateau Astro). Several other science communication experts were also present to share their experiences and lead small group activities: Frédérique Baron (Université de Montréal), Viraja Khatu (Western University), Marie-Eve Naud (Université de Montréal) and Jesse Rogerson (York University).

We thank all participants and facilitators for attending AstroComm 2021 and hope to continue this great discussion on science communication during future events!

List of participants

  1. Leo Yvonne Acorn (York University)
  2. Théophile Bégin (Université de Montréal)
  3. Anne Boucher (Université de Montréal)
  4. Rachel Brown (Western University)
  5. Christian Carles (Université Laval)
  6. Ève Campeau-Poirier (Université de Montréal)
  7. Alice Curtin (McGill University)
  8. Maigan Devries (University of Northern British Columbia)
  9. Gilles Ferrand (RIKEN)
  10. Erica Franzmann (University of Manitoba)
  11. Jennifer Glover (University of Victoria)
  12. Justine Giroux (Université Laval)
  13. Adélie Gorce (McGill University)
  14. Steffani Grondin (University of Toronto)
  15. Louis-Simon Guité (Université de Montréal)
  16. Raphaël Hardy (Université de Montréal)
  17. Patrick Horlaville (McGill University)
  18. Sakina Hussain (Western University)
  19. Jaclyn Jensen (University of Victoria)
  20. Akshay Jogoo (Laurentian University)
  21. Prime Karera (Université Laval)
  22. Erica Li (University of Waterloo)
  23. Xueying Li (McGill University)
  24. Olivia Lim (Université de Montréal)
  25. Wednesday Lupypciw (University of Waterloo)
  26. Simran Nerval (Queen’s University)
  27. Stefan Pelletier (Université de Montréal)
  28. Caroline Piaulet (Université de Montréal)
  29. Myriam Prasow-Émond (Université de Montréal)
  30. Pranav Ratra (University of Waterloo)
  31. Nayyer Raza (University of British Columbia)
  32. Carter Rhea (Université de Montréal)
  33. Maxime Royer (Université Laval)
  34. Vida Saeedzadeh (University of Victoria)
  35. Gabriel Savard (Université Laval)
  36. Ameek Sidhu (Western University)
  37. Garima Singh (Herzberg Astronomy & Astrophysics)
  38. Josh Speagle (University of Toronto)
  39. Connor Stone (Queen’s University)
  40. Janette Suherli (University of Manitoba)
  41. Christian Thibeault (Université de Montréal)
  42. Sarah Thiele (University of British Columbia)
  43. Mercedes Thompson (University of British Columbia)
  44. Patrick Tremblay (Université de Montréal)
  45. Selin Tuquet (Université de Montréal)
  46. Thomas Vandal (Université de Montréal)
  47. Benjamin Vigneron (Université de Montréal)
  48. Lan Xi Zhu (McGill University)