David Lafrenière and Pierre Chastenay receive prestigious honors from the Canadian Astronomical Society (CASCA)


David Lafrenière David Lafrenière of the Université de Montréal, and member of the CRAQ, is the 2017 recipient of the inaugural Harvey B. Richer Gold Medal from CASCA. David Lafrenière earned his PhD in 2007 from…

Professor Victoria Kaspi receives the Prix d’excellence 2017 FRQNT


The Center for Research in Astrophysics of Quebec (CRAQ) congratulates Professor Victoria Kaspi, of McGill University, who won the 2017 Prix d’excellence of the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature et technologies (FRQNT). Professor Kaspi…

The Mysterious Star


Observations obtained by an international team of astronomers, including Laurent Drissen, Thomas Martin and Alexandre Alarie from Université Laval and members of the CRAQ, could explain the sudden appearance of a “guest star”, observed more than…