Professor René Doyon receives the Urgel-Archambault Prize from Acfas

Laureats_Prix_Acfas_2017The Center for Research in Astrophysics of Quebec (CRAQ) congratulates René Doyon of the University of Montreal, member of the CRAQ and director of the Mont-Mégantic Observatory (OMM) and the Institute for Research on Exoplanets (iREx), who won the 2017 Urgel-Archambault Award, presented by the “Association francophone pour le savoir” (Acfas).

René Doyon receives this award for his work on the development of cutting edge astronomical instrumentation for various observatories, both ground and space-based. He also participates in various observation programs targeting the research and characterization of brown dwarfs, exoplanets and low-mass young stars. In 2008, with his colleagues Christian Marois (HIA) and David Lafrenière (CRAQ), René Doyon contributed to the discovery, using imaging technique, of three exoplanets. He is now very involved in the development of the future James Webb Space Telescope, the most complex and powerful telescope ever built, scheduled for launch in 2019.

About the Urgel-Archambault Award

The award was first created in 1953 in honor of Urgel Archambault, founding director of Polytechnique Montréal. It recognize the excellence and influence of a researcher’s work and actions in the field of physical sciences, mathematics, computer science or engineering.

Source and contact:

Robert Lamontagne
Public outreach
Centre de recherche en astrophysique du Québec
Université de Montréal
Phone : (514) 343-6111 x3195

Credits : Hombeline Dumas