Space Climate 7

Space Climate Symposium on July 8-11 , 2019

Canton Orford, Québec, Canada

About Space Climate 7 Symposium

The Space Climate Symposia Series brings together leading experts in the field of space climate. The objectives of the Symposia are three-fold:

  1. to better understand the causes and effects of long-term variations in solar activity, with focus on the solar magnetic dynamo, and how the magnetic field it generates produces the various phenomena collectively making up solar activity: e.g., sunspots, flares, coronal mass ejections, coronal holes, high-speed solar wind streams etc;
  2. to better understand how the varying solar activity affects the near-Earth space, atmosphere and even climate, on time scales ranging from a few solar rotations up to several millennia;
  3. to better understand the intricacies of the various datasets used to make inferences about long-term solar variations: e.g., the sunspot number time series and geomagnetic observations.

Registration and Symposium deadlines:

Prices and deadline (all prices include taxes):

Early bird registration



Normal registration



Late registration



  • Hôtel Estrimont Suites & SPA reservation dealine: June 6th, 2019


You can create, modify and complete your form at any time until the deadline, June 21th, 2019. Just use your email and the password that will be attributed to you.

After this date, if you need to communicate new information or to modify your application, please contact the committee,

For new registration or to edit your registration:   (*:mandatory fields";)

For new abstract or to edit your abstract:   (*:mandatory fields";)

Symposium program

Symposium will take place July 8-11, 2019.

Preliminary session program with invited speakers: soon (some still TBC).


The Space Climate 7 Symposium will take place 8-11 July 2019 in Canton Orford, in Québec's beautiful Eastern Townships, about one hour from Montréal.

The meeting venue is the Hôtel Estrimont Suites & SPA, located near the Mont-Orford National Park, which offers a wide variery of outdoor activities.

Registration, hotel and shuttle reservations, and abstract submission will all open on 17 October 2018 on this web page.


Accommodation for symposium participants

A block of 80 rooms has been reserved at Hôtel Estrimont Suites & SPA, the meeting venue.

We highly recommend taking advantage of the housing package offered at the Hôtel Estrimont Suites & SPA, which is the meeting venue. This includes 4 nights, 4 full buffet breakfasts, 2 buffet lunches, and access to all hôtel facilities. Reservations must be made directly with Hôtel Estrimont, either by phone at 1-800-567-7320, or filling in this *reservation form* and return it by fax at 1-819-843-4909, or by email at Upon reservation you must indicate the group code SPACECLIMATE7. It also possible to secure accommodation for additional nights before or after the meeting at a special group rate. Prices given below are for the 4-day meeting package, and include all applicable taxes and service charges.

Single occupancy: CAD$801
Double occupancy: CAD$473 per person
Reservation deadline: June 6th, 2019.

Travel and Visa

Getting to Canton Orford

Most participants should plan to fly into Montréal's Trudeau International Airport. Montréal-Trudeau (YUL) is an international airports served by most major airlines, and by most major car rental firms. Shuttle service to and from the Eastern Townships is provided by AeroNavette


Participants requiring a visa to enter Canada are urged to begin the visa application process as soon as possible, as this can be a long process in some countries, depending of your nationality or dual-citizenship status. Find out if you need a Visa or Electronic Travel Authorization: If you require an invitation letter for your visa application, please send an email to:


For any questions, contact us at

Scientific Organizing Committee

Paul Charbonneau
Université Montréal, Montréal, Canada
Ed Cliver
National Solar Observatory, NM, USA
Marius Echim
Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy, Brussels, Belgium
Katya Georgieva
Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia Bulgaria
Sarah Gibson
Nat Gopalswamy
Dan Marsh
Kalevi Mursula (chair)
University of Oulu, Finland
Dibyendu Nandi
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata, India
Alexei Pevtsov
National Solar Observatory, NM, USA
Alexander Ruzmaikin
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Caltech, CA, USA
Alexis Rouillard
CNRS, IRAP, Toulouse, France
Andrei Tlatov
Kislovodsk Solar Observatory Observatory, Kislovodsk, Russia
Ilya Usoskin (vice-chair)
Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory, Finland
Mirela Voiculescu
University "Dunarea de Jos", Galati, Romania

Local Organizing Committee

  • Paul Charbonneau (LOC chair)
  • Cassandra Bolduc (LOC vice-chair)
  • Andrew Cumming
  • Luc Turbide
  • Ljubomir Nikolic
  • Alexandre Lemerle
  • Benoit Tremblay
  • Christian Thibeault
  • Alexandre Champagne-Ruel
  • Raphael Hardy
  • Timo Asikainen
Academy of Finland CRAQ Universite de Montreal SCOSTEP European Office of Aerospace Research & Development